Alumni Achievements

  • Ben Bullock (M.A. ’13) has been named video production specialist for the Louisiana State University Athletic Department.  He previously served Delaware State University as assistant athletic media relations director, and as a sports information graduate assistant at UMKC for two years.
  • Robin Ewy, M.A. (’13), LPC, ACA, has been named the new executive director for the American Counseling Association of Missouri (ACAM).  In addition to having a small private practice in Kansas City, she facilitates the Northwest District Counseling Ministries for the Missouri conference of the United Methodist Church, and leads the Hope and Healing Ministries at Gashland United Methodist Church.
  • Dr. Sara A. Jahnke (M.A. ’04), director, Center for Fire, Rescue & EMS, Institute for Biobehavioral Health Research, National Development & Research Institutes, Inc. received the Dr. John Granito Award for Excellence in Fire Leadership and Management Research this summer in Tulsa, OK, from the International Fire Service Journal of Leadership and Management (IFSJLM).
  • Nancy Cramer (M.A. ’71, Ed.S. ’79) in retirement has written four books for children on World War I: A Student Guide; Unheard Voices, Untold Stories (1898-1918); Unheard Voices, Untold Stories (Volume 2); and Beko, The Little French Dog – World War I Hero.  Email her at for more information.
  • Kerry Lane (M.A. ’02) will be the new principal at Kansas’ Olathe South High School this fall.  Read more.
  • Chris Wolff (M.A. ’12) has written A Pearl of Great Value: The History of UMKC, Kansas City’s University, with proceeds supporting the UMKC Alumni Association’s student scholarships.  Pre-order your copy today.
  • Sierra L. Warren (M.A. ’15) is now an admissions coordinator at MCC Maple Woods in Kansas City, Mo.
  • Barbara R. Grayson, Esq. (B.A., ‘98) joined Jenner & Block in Chicago to launch and co-chair new private wealth practice. Read more.
  • Philip Thies (Ed.D., ’16) has been named principal of Quail Run Elementary School in the Lawrence (Ks.) school district, effective July.
  • Judy G. Jacobs (Ph.D. ’86) was honored with the 2016 UMKC Defying the Odds Award. See her story.
  • Deborah Siebern-Dennis (B.A. ’05), a seventh grade science teacher at Bode Middle School in St. Jopseh, Mo., was honored with the prestigious 2016 Milken Educator Award and $25,000.  Read more.

Keep in T1938-roo_outlined_modified-colorouch

We’re eager to hear from you!  Please join the official UMKC alumni community or contact us directly at 816-235-6173.

SOE Alumni Achievement Award Recipients

2016Harlan Brownlee (M.A. '04)
2015Larry Long (Ph.D., '97)
2014Rodney Watson (Ed.S. ’00, Ph.D. ’07)
Dorothy Watson (’64)
2012Suzanne McCanles (’97)
Yvonne S. Wilson (’76)
Steve L. Obenhaus (’88)