Faculty & Staff E-news 11.8.16

dean note banner

I know all of you were as pleased as I was to hear last week that Dr. Mun Y. Choi has been named the 24th president of the UM System, effective March 1.  For 24-years, Dr. Choi has served as a dedicated teacher, an active researcher and administrator committed to meeting the goals of public higher education, most recently as provost and executive vice president at the University of Connecticut.  I look forward to his leadership for the System and UMKC and await the opportunities to work with him to further strengthen the university and embrace the many valued contributions of all our students, faculty and staff.


Last week, Drs. Kindel Nash and Ekaterina Strekalova-Hughes, along with Ms. Rhianna Thomas and Ms. Leah Panther, presented at the International Conference on Urban Education in Rio Grande, Puerto Rico.  This work, “Complexity, Context and Community: Learning Teaching as an Interpretive Process” was co-authored with Drs. Connor Warner, Etta Hollins, Clare Bell and Nora Peterman and funded by a 2015 Dean’s Small Grant.


Last Friday, thanks to planning by Dr. Jennifer Waddell, our teacher candidates had the opportunity to hear from and ask questions of Dr. Mark T. Bedell, superintendent in KCPS, and district principals Dr. Mary Bachkora, Ms. Jessica Bassett and Mr. Steven Evans.  I understand that it is the first time a KCPS superintendent has engaged with our students in such a public forum and I am encouraged by the future collaboration this foretells, particularly since this event was initiated by Dr. Bedell.  We appreciate the assistance of Ms. Christine Timmerman, Ms. Dianna Brasington and Ms. Dea Marx for their assistance preparing for and at the event as well.


Approximately 100 teachers attended the Kansas City Area Teachers of Mathematics annual one-day conference for PK-12 mathematics teachers in the metro area on Saturday at the UMKC School of Education. Four breakout sessions covered topics such as differentiating for inclusive classes, managing technology, creating a learning culture, functions, games, number sense and more.   Speakers include Bathy Battles from the Regional Professional Development Center and the following affiliated with the Teacher Education & Curriculum Studies division:

  • Kelly Lee – Current IPhD Student
  • Bill Morgan – Current IPhD Student
  • Melynda Hanson – Graduate of our Teacher Education Program
  • Daesik Lee – Current visiting scholar from South Korea
  • Jan LaFevers – Current adjunct professor for the SOE
  • Lisa Erickson – Graduate of our IPhD program
  • HeeGyoung Song – Graduate of our IPhD program
  • Bob Riggs – Graduate of our IPhD program
  • Fazila Patel – Current EdS student and GRA
  • Maggie Holley – Graduate of our IPhD program
  • Alex Omordion – Current IPhD Student

Drs. Clare Bell and Rita Barger are former presidents of the organization and Dr. Barger served as conference chair for this year’s event.


Adolescent Development (EDCP 492) and Educational Psychology (EDCP 493) are both again being offered during Winter Intersession with enrollment via Pathway.  Please encourage students to enroll for these online courses as a way to start the spring semester a step ahead.


The School of Education Student Government is sponsoring a free screening of The Road to Teach on Tuesday, November 15, from 6:30-7:45 p.m. in the Learning Commons.  Grab a colleague or friend and attend this inspirational documentary.  A light meal will be provided.


This year’s holiday lunch will be held at Grand Street Café on December 2.  Please RSVP.


And, please exercise your right and VOTE.