Faculty & Staff E-news 11.9.15

dean note banner

As announced last week, we are fortunate to be able to host a guest speaker at the end of next week who will address an extremely important and timely topic: Presentation and Interpretation of Data to Meet New CAEP Standards. Please join the Division of Teacher Education and Curriculum Studies (TE&CS) and the Teacher Education Coordinating Council (TECC) for this exciting opportunity to hear Dr. Jim Vander Putten’s presentation on Friday, November 13th, from 2-4 p.m. in room 307. Dr. Vander Putten is an associate professor of Higher Education at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock. His areas of scholarship include higher education, qualitative research, research integrity and social class. My appreciation to Dr. Etta Hollins for her sponsorship of this presentation.

Dr. Connor Warner was highlighted in the Provost’s November 3rd blog as one of UMKC’s new faculty members: http://info.umkc.edu/provost/. Congratulations.

I wish to give a big shout out to both Dr. Phyllis Chase and Mr. Richard Wells for their commitment and hard work as our liaisons for the University’s “Live Roonited” United Way campaign last week. Thank you, also, to those of you who generously participated in the week’s many activities.

The SOE’s Holiday Celebration and CAEP Update for all faculty and staff will be held December 4th from 12-2 p.m. at Grand Street Café. A holiday lunch will be included, so please RSVP.

My thanks to all volunteers at this year’s mid-year graduation ceremony on December 19th: Drs. Rita Barger, Michelle Maher, Jake Marszalek, Nancy Murdock, Kindel Nash, Dianne Smith and Connor Warner; and Ms. Dianna Brasington, Ms. Shay Dodson, Ms. Dea Marx, Ms. Gina Sanders, and Ms. Carol Sargent. A reminder that the deadline for regalia order through Mr. Brad Martens is November 20th.

And, a reminder that nominations for the 2015-16 UM President’s Award and Student Entrepreneur of the Year will be accepted through January 22nd, 2016. Any benefit-eligible faculty member may be nominated for the Presidents’ Award; details are available at http://www.umsystem.edu/ums/aa/awards.