Faculty & Staff E-news 5.04.15

dean note banner

I am pleased to report that Dr. Patty McHatton, along with the help of students Mr. Sam Blundell, Ms. Cole Kill, Mr. Kent Myers, Ms. Megan Mills and student/adjunct Mr. Erdem Demiroz, hosted a very successful demonstration of the TLE TeachLivE Lab, a classroom simulation program developed at the University of Central Florida, to our TeachLivE benefactor, Bert Berkley (of Tension Corporation and UMKC trustee emeritus), and other community members/SOE supporters who included Bill Berkley, Tension Corporation, Bert’s son and former UMKC trustee; Janet and Dan Dubrava, Tension Corporation, Bert’s daughter and son-in-law; Linda Edwards, SOE dean emeritus and Linda L. Edwards Scholarship; Anne Elsberry, Elsberry Family Foundation Scholarship for IUE and former IUE Advisory Board member; David Oliver, Berkowitz Oliver Williams Shaw & Eisenbrandt LLP, UMKC trustee and former IUE Advisory Board member; Carey Wilkerson Looney, Marion and Henry Bloch Family Foundation; Jacqueline Erickson Russell, Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation; Blanche Sosland and Debbie Sosland-Edelman, Sosland Foundation; Susan Wally and Kathleen Boyle Dalen, PrepKC; Gwen Wurst, Greater Kansas City Community Foundation; and Hugh Zimmer, NG Zimmer, UMKC trustee, Hugh J. Zimmer Family Scholarship for IUE, and former IUE Advisory Board chair. It was an exciting morning, with good questions and dialogue and I am hopeful for continued and additional support from our community members to allow us to maintain this technology in our classrooms and better prepare our candidates. I encourage all faculty to consider how you might be able to incorporate TeachLivE into your courses and work now to build it into your syllabi for summer and fall. (Please call Dr. McHatton if you would like further information on TeachLivE or the reactions from our students who are experiencing it in their classes.)

I am pleased to announce that Dr. Carolyn Thompson is the recipient of the 2015-2016 Dean Young Pai Memorial Endowment Fund Award for her proposed research titled: Civil Rights Era Movers and Shakers in Higher Education: African American Student Leadership and the San Francisco State College Story, 1967-1969.

And, this year’s Dean’s Small Grant recipients are: Dr.  Carolyn Barber: Bully Victimization and Civic Engagement: An Analysis of a Local Student Population; Drs. Julia Atiles and Patty McHatton: Reducing the Gap: Preschool Benefits Children of Color; and Drs. Connor Warner, Kindel Nash, Julia Atiles, and Patty McHatton: Investigating Learning to Teach as an Interpretive Process. Please help me congratulate our colleagues on their very impressive work and commitment to urban education!

Last week, the SOE hosted its 13th successful spring event on the lawn to celebrate our 2015 graduates and the work of all SOE students, and the weather couldn’t have been more perfect! Congratulations to our student awardees, Ms. Caitlyn Dunsford, Outstanding Undergraduate Student; Ms. Amy Maragos, Outstanding Master’s Student; and Ms. Genevieve Maliszewski, Outstanding Doctoral Student. I also wish to acknowledge master’s and Ed.S. finalists, Mr. John Harding and Ms. Jennifer Fox; and doctoral student finalists, Mr. Erdem Demiroz, Ms. Leah Panther, and Ms. Jennifer Schaafsma. I wish to extend my appreciation to the Fiesta on the Lawn planning committee members: the SOE Student Government, including Ms. Sierra Warren, chair; Mr. Jeff Barbee, outgoing president; Ms. Caitlyn Dunsford, incoming president; Ms. LaShaundra Randolph; Ms. Kim Johnson, co-advisor; and SOE staff Ms. Breann Branch, Ms. Connie Fischer, Ms. Courtney Lee, Mr. Jay Meyers, Ms. Tamara Morris and Ms. Christine Timmerman who executed innumerable details with great precision. My thanks also to Dr. Uzziel Pecina and his Aztlan bandmates for striking a festive mood with their music.

On Friday, April 24th, the Regional Professional Development Center (RPDC) celebrated its 20th anniversary with a “Platinum Celebration Open House” and I commend Dr. Julie Collins and her team for a well-executed event!  My thanks to SOE faculty and staff who stopped in to support RPDC’s efforts. The theme, “Where Were You in 1995?,” was a fun way to involve guests including prior employees, educators from area school districts and organizational partners, as they reflected on changes during the past 20 years.   The UMKC RPDC was the first of the nine regional centers across the state to celebrate 20 years; however, there are plans in the works for a statewide celebration this June.

Know that this semester’s grades will be due at 5 p.m. on Tuesday, May 19th. As a reminder, given the University’s system wide requirement to retain gradebooks for seven years, please remember that at the end of the semester, all instructors also will need to submit an electronic version of their gradebook (not just course grades) if they do not use the gradebook function in Blackboard. Instructors must also include the course syllabus so that the criteria and weighting used for determining grades for assignments and final grade are available. Please submit your gradebooks to Chris Popoola.

Upcoming events:

  • A Dialogue about Implicit Bias,” Wednesday, May 6th from 11 a.m.-1:00 p.m. in room 307. Deth Im from Communities Creating Opportunities will present this workshop, the second in our series of “Difficult Conversations and Honest Discussions: Equity, Justice and You.” RSVP. A light lunch will be served at 11 a.m.
  • Faculty and Staff Excellence Award presentations, Wednesday, May 6th, from 1-1:15 p.m. in room 307. Please help us recognize your deserving colleagues.

As the semester winds down, I encourage each of us to continue to encourage and support our students to the best of our ability, knowing that they will be the ones to create educational opportunities for our communities in years to come. Have a good week.