Faculty & Staff E-news 8.31.15

dean note banner

Last week, several of us in the SOE met with a team from UMKC’s Strategic Marketing and Communications to discuss ways in which our website could be improved both in content and usability, based largely on comments I gathered from our chairs and their respective divisions. I expect to receive a specific estimate for the cost and scope of this very important work in the next few weeks and we will communicate further as the process unfolds. For now, know that our collective focus is to improve our website as a recruitment tool for prospective (undergraduate and graduate) students, which will be a work in progress.

In follow-up to an email sent earlier to all faculty and staff, please know that the SOE is now accepting nominations for the Hugh J. Zimmer Award for Excellence in Urban Education. This award is named for longtime UMKC and School of Education benefactor Hugh J. Zimmer, a noted business and civic leader and ardent supporter of urban education. The award will be presented next spring at our annual Urban Education and Community Forum; nominations are accepted through September 30th.

A reminder that Provost Barbara Bichelmeyer will be visiting with SOE faculty and staff this Wednesday, September 2nd, from 3:30-4:30 p.m. in room 307 to discuss our search for a new dean and our steps moving forward. I encourage you to attend this important meeting to help shape our future as a thriving school of education.

On Thursday, September 17th, we will be honoring the SOE’s student scholarship recipients and our many generous donors who make these students’ dreams possible at the annual (invitation only) Scholar Donor Luncheon. My many thanks to the members of the Scholarship selection committee (Drs. Carolyn Barber, Loyce Caruthers, Linda Edwards, Gus Jacob, Julie Kohlhart, Zachary McCall, Patty Alvarez McHatton, Raol Taft, Edward Underwood, Sue Vartuli and Jennifer Waddell, and Ms. Dea Marx, Ms. Gina Sanders and Mr. Ernie Stufflebean) and those who have planned and managed the logistics for what I know will be another successful celebration! For those of you who normally may have scholarship recipients in your classes during this time, I appreciate your understanding in allowing these students the opportunity to attend this once-a-year recognition.

As you know, we have several searches for staff positions underway. I wish to extend my appreciation to search committee members for the data and certification manager position: Ms. Christine Timmerman (chair), Dr. LaVerne Berkel, Ms. Amy Cole (UMKC’s associate registrar), Mr. Jay Meyers and Ms. Carol Sargent. For the academic advisor position: Ms. Christine Timmerman (chair), Ms. Autumn Ayres (UMKC transfer advisor/coordinator), Mr. Brad Martens, Ms. Dea Marx and Dr. Connor Warner. And, for the Office Support Assistant IV position: Ms. Christine Timmerman (chair), Ms. Chris Popoola, Ms. Gina Sanders and Ms. Carol Sargent.

Have a great semester!