Fourteen receive competitive graduate research grants

In keeping with UMKC’s goal to support cutting-edge research activities and economic development, the School of Graduate Studies (SGS) annually provides competitive graduate grants to support research and teaching.  The SGS, along with the UMKC Graduate Student Council, honored graduate students across campus in the spring with its supports for the 2016-17 academic year.  Fourteen UMKC School of Education students were among the honorees.  We congratulate:


Graduate Opportunity Fellowship Recipients
Rashida Edmondson, Counseling Psychology Ph.D.
Mirella Flores, Counseling Psychology Ph.D.
Alyssa Joiner, Counseling Psychology Ph.D.
Joanna Maung, Counseling Psychology Ph.D.
Charles Oakley, I.Ph.D., Educational Leadership, Policy, and Foundations/Social Science Consortium


Preparing Future Faculty Scholar Awardees
Sydney Morgan, Counseling Psychology Ph.D.
Alexander Omorodion, I.Ph.D., Curriculum and Instructional Leadership/Physics. (Renewal for a second year of funding)
Jessica Ross, Counseling Psychology Ph.D.


School of Graduate Studies Research Grantees
Shavern Browne, Counseling Psychology Ph.D.
Emine Demiroz, I.Ph.D., Curriculum and Instructional Leadership/English
Amanda McLarty, Counseling Psychology Ph.D.
Alex Ross, Counseling Psychology Ph.D.
Jennifer Schaafsma, Counseling Psychology Ph.D.
Rhianna Thomas, I.Ph.D., Curriculum and Instruction/Educational Leadership, Policy, and Foundations


Shavern Browne also received a Symposium Award for the research she presented at the Community of Scholars Poster session in April.


Applications for Research Grant Proposals for 2017 are due October 17.  For the proposal form and further instructions visit